Posted by: wfloydk | January 21, 2010

Goals for the new semester

Today, while I was working on the diagnostic test, I was feeling quite confident in my answers only to end up being shot down. After only getting five out of the ten questions right, I soon realized what my downfall was: I never ask myself, “Why?” when I am writing. In my lack of doing so, I set myself up for failure, because it makes the task of defining an author’s intentions, when I do not practice it myself. So during this semester, my goal is to practice asking, “Why?” when writing, adding depth to my writing. This will also help me to pick out the purpose of writing a passage a certain way. In addition to this, I want to better apply my knowledge of syntax, and other strategies to my writing. While my writing may be a bit above average, I want to aim to make a 5 on the AP exam, and just become a more skilled writer in general. This will come with conciseness, something that has always been difficult for me. In reading more nonfiction texts, I believe I will pick up on how to better do this, in addition to having the chance to analyze them as well, in preparation for the AP exam. 210


Responses

  1. I like the specificity of your goals: I think precise goals are often more attainable and meaningful than broad, vague ones. I will definitely be encouraging you to ask “why” frequently. I’ll start now! Why write “in addition” and “as well” in the same clause? (This may also relate to your goal regarding conciseness!)
    Floyd, I am really looking forward to working with you this semester to help you achieve your ambitions. With students like you, it will surely be a great class!


Leave a comment

Categories