Posted by: wfloydk | June 1, 2010

Final Reflection

Dear Mrs. Robinson,

Throughout my year in Honors English III and AP Language and Composition, I have learned a plethora of ways to improve my writing. It definitely shows; at the beginning of the year I was struggling to make a B on my papers. On my final paper, I made an A. With that being my first A on a paper, I was thoroughly excited. I feel now, through the completion of this course that I am a much better writer than I used to be. My writing now flows, making it easier for the reader to understand. As well, I know correct grammar rules; therefore, I am no longer afraid to vary my syntax, like I’m doing now. I think overall though, the most important thing about reading and writing I learned was I had to slow down. I love to read fast, but I soon discovered this would not always work for this course. There were many times my interpretations were far from being accurate because I missed an important word or the tone of the passage.

My writing wasn’t the only thing that improved either. In learning about argumentation, I found myself being more open-minded to other people’s beliefs. I started realizing that when I would be debating, or maybe just talking, to someone, I would actually be listening to them. Many times in the past I would just tune them out, their words “going in one ear and coming out another.” Now I actually care about someone else’s views as it offers me an experience to learn.

The biggest lesson I learned can be summed in this greatly overused statement, “If you really want something, you have to work for it.” My biggest regret of this year was not striving for the A average, even though I wanted it so bad.

Mrs. Robinson, I just want to thank you so much for pushing me to succeed. I don’t think I would have been so well prepared for the AP exam if you hadn’t. You have been by far my favorite teacher and certainly the one that has taught me the most about myself.

Thank you,

Floyd Kornegay

(355 words)


Responses

  1. Oh, man Floyd–I am really going to miss having you in my class. I was really impressed with what you said in your reflection about argumentation and debates: if everyone knew what you did, and behaved the way you do, the world would be an amazing place. Floyd for President!


Leave a comment

Categories