Posted by: wfloydk | November 23, 2009

Never Mine

Love, why have you betrayed me?

 

Blessing others with a warm,

out-stretched hand,

while leaving me to the

cold inner-workings of your heart.

 

As many times as I can count,

you toss me aside like yesterday’s

lunch: cold and wet.

 

Wet from the tears I cry

as you slowly stab my heart,

bringing me to my knee in agony.

 

Torturing me with your kindness

towards other, yet scorning me

in my feeble triumphs.

 

A hatred so cold Hades

would freeze over

calming the torture of those souls

but never mine.


Responses

  1. Again, I used poetry to practice connecting to the emotions of the audience, mainly one of betrayal. This poem really brings to life the coldness of love, something I’m sure everyone can relate to in some point in their life.


Leave a comment

Categories